How To Apply For A Marriage License

 

  • Bride and Groom must both appear at the Worth County Recorder of Deeds office to apply.

  • Both must bring a driver's license or some other form of picture id.

  • A non-refundable CASH filing fee of $46.00 must be paid at the time of request. (No checks or other forms of payment. Cash only.)

  • Upon receiving the marriage license, it must be used within THIRTY days of receipt,otherwise it becomes null and void and cannot be recorded.

  • According to Missouri Statute 451.130.2, the person performing the ceremony has fifteen days to return the license to the Recorder of Deeds.

  • As of August 28, 2007 pursuant to State Statute there is no longer a three (3) day waiting period to obtain your marriage license.

  • Both must be at least 18 to marry without adult concent.
    (Extra forms must be filed out by parents/legal guardian if under age. No one under fifteen may marry, nor can family members marry each other up to first cousins.)

  • In order to change your name on your driver’s license and social security card, you may purchase a certified copy of your marriage license which can be purchased at the time of application. The fee for a certified copy is $9.00 (cash or check). 
  • If either of the applicants were previously married, we will need the date your last marriage ended. Check with your attorney to see if there is a waiting period after your divorce finalized,before applying for your current marriage license.  _____________________________________________________________________________

    For any other Missouri Statute Questions that apply to Marriage Licenses see: The Missouri Revised Statutes - RSMO Chapter 451
  •  
       
       
       
       
       
     

     


    taking minutes

    Apply at the
    Recorder of Deeds:

    Worth County Courthouse
    11 West Fourth Street Grant City, MO 64456.


    Our office hours are 8:30 am. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday, baring government holidays.


    Please make sure you arrive no later than
    4 p.m. so that your marriage license application is procsesed before the close of the day.

    © 2010 - www.worthcounty.us ~ All Rights Reserved.         Website created by Grant City Technology Pro